How to cure stage fright: The science behind public speaking by Mikael Cho

20131208-083335.jpg

Palms sweaty. Heart racing. You know the feeling. Whether it’s five people or 50, public speaking is a gut-wrenching experience for most of us.

Before co-founding ooomf, I had a huge fear of speaking in public. Any time I had to present something in front of more than a handful of people, my stomach
would turn to knots and my throat would get so tight I wouldn’t be able to speak.

The reality is, if you’re planning on presenting pretty much anything in your life (which you most likely will), you’ll need to be able to effectively communicate your ideas in front of at least a few people.

To get over my fear of public speaking, I realized a good place to start would be to understand why I was getting stage fright in the first place.

I thought it would be interesting to share with you my research for how I learned to overcome my fear of public speaking in the last year while founding a company.

What is stage fright, really?

Sometimes, even weeks before a presentation, I would think, ”What happens if people think I suck or someone thinks I don’t know what I’m talking about?”

As humans, we’re hardwired to worry about our reputation above almost all things. There are primitive parts of your brain that control your reaction to threats on your reputation, making these reactions extremely difficult to control.

Read the rest here (you really need to read this!): http://thenextweb.com/entrepreneur/2013/12/08/cure-stage-fright-science-behind-public-speaking/#!peOdP

One thought on “How to cure stage fright: The science behind public speaking by Mikael Cho

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.